An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Election of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Governors 


Nine Governors have been elected to the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Council of Governors following elections held in the Trust’s public constituencies. Ross Britton, Isabel McLellan, John Parker, Jennifer Lisle, Lucinda Herklots, Michael Mounde and Sharan White were newly elected, with Beth Robertson and Raymond Jack successfully re-elected.

The elections were run by Electoral Reform Services on behalf of the Trust. The Trust has eight public constituencies. These are Salisbury City, South Wiltshire Rural, North Dorset, New Forest, Kennet, West Wiltshire, East Dorset and the Rest of England. The number of Governors per constituency is based on the population, with Governors elected for three year periods up to a maximum of nine years.

As well as public Governors, the Trust has staff Governors and nominated Governors. Nominated Governors are drawn from the Trust’s stakeholders such as Wiltshire Council and local Clinical Commissioning Groups and are responsible for providing their organisations with information about the Trust's performance and in turn keeping the Council of Governors informed of stakeholders’ views.

Staff Governors newly elected were Pearl James, Jonathan Wright and Paul Straughair, with Shaun Fountain, Collette Martindale and Christine White successfully re-elected.

Dr Nick Marsden, Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “I would like to welcome all our new public and staff governors and congratulate those who were successfully re-elected. Our Governors provide an essential link between the Trust and our members, feeding back information that can be used to help shape and plan our services for the benefit of our patients and they will have an invaluable role to play in the future success of the Trust.”

Dr Marsden added: “This year we said goodbye to John Carvell, Chris Wain, John Markwell and Carole Noonan who were part of the first Council of Governors elected in 2006, together with Mandy Cripps, Sarah Bealey, June Griffin, Lynda Viney and Brian Fisk. They have all served the hospital and our patients with distinction and I want to use this opportunity to acknowledge their outstanding commitment and contribution to the membership, the Trust and to local people who use our hospital services and wish them well for the future.”

Notes to Editors:

The Council of Governors has a total of 27 Governors and meets formally four times a year, as well as in individual topic based groups. The Governors communicate regularly with their members through the Trust’s website, newsletter and constituency meetings. The full list of the new Council of Governors is:

Public Constituencies:

Name Constituency
Sir Raymond Jack South Wiltshire Rural
Dr. Alastair Lack South Wiltshire Rural
Dr. Jennifer Lisle South Wiltshire Rural
Dr. Beth Robertson South Wiltshire Rural
Lynn Taylor South Wiltshire Rural
Lucinda Herklots Salisbury City
Jan Sanders Salisbury City
Vacant Salisbury City
Isabel McLellan North Dorset
John Parker North Dorset
Vacant New Forest
Sharan White Kennett
Michael Mounde West Wiltshire
Ross Britton East Dorset
Vacant Rest of England

Staff Constituency:

Name Constituency
Jonathan Wright Clerical Administrative and Managerial
Pearl Heather Volunteers
Shaun Fountain Medical and Dental
Colette Martindale Nurses and Midwives
Christine White Scientific, Therapeutic and Technical
Paul Straughair Hotel and Property

Nominated Governors

Name Constituency
Chris Horwood Wessex Community Action
John Noeken Wiltshire Council
Mary Monnington Wiltshire CCG
Simone Yule Dorset CCG
Rob Polkinghorne West Hampshire CCG
Colonel James Denny Military
Page Last Updated: 02/06/2015 10:29 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website