An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Election of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Governors 

Fiona Libby has been elected as a new Governor for Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust’s South Wiltshire Rural constituency joining Chris Horwood (South Wiltshire Rural),  Celeste Collins, (Salisbury City) and Paul Goldman (North Dorset),  who were re-elected to the Council of Governors.



The elections were held by Electoral Reform Services on behalf of the Trust  and are the first  round of elections for Governors elected for a two year period when the Trust was awarded NHS Foundation Status in June 2006.


The Trust has seven public constituencies. These are Salisbury City, South Wiltshire Rural, North Dorset, New Forest, Kennett, West Wiltshire and East Dorset. The number of Governors per constituency is based on the population, with some Governors serving a two or three year term based on the size of the constituency.


Luke March, Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “I would like to welcome Fiona to the Council of Governors and congratulate the three members who have been re-elected. In doing so,  I would like to thank Bill Rogers for his tremendous work over the past two years as Governor of the South Wiltshire Rural constituency and acknowledge the invaluable contribution that all our Governors make to the membership , the Trust and of course to local people who use our hospital services.”


Governors provide an essential link between the Trust and its members, feeding back information from the membership that can be used to help shape and plan services for the benefit of local people. They also have a number of statutory duties , including the appointment of Non Executive Directors and considering the Trust’s Annual Plan.


As well as public Governors, the Trust has staff Governors,  and a patient/carer Governor who represents the interests of patients from the Trust’s specialist services. There are also six appointed Governors from organisations that work closely with the Trust.


More details on the election results can be found at  under Foundation at the bottom of the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Homepage, where there is more about  NHS Foundation Trust  status and the benefits of joining as a member.” Ends


Notes to Editors:


The Council Of Governors has a total of 27 Governors and meets formally four times a year, as well as in individual topic based groups. The Governors communicate regularly with their members through the Trust’s website, newsletter and constituency meetings. The full list of the new Council of  Governors is: 


Public Constituencies:  

John Carvell - Salisbury City

Chris Wain - Salisbury City

Celeste Collins - Salisbury City

Kate Beaumont - South Wiltshire Rural

Robert Coate - South Wiltshire Rural

Sara Willan - South Wiltshire Rural

Chris Horwood - South Wiltshire Rural

Fiona Libby - South Wiltshire Rural

Mary Hutcherson - North Dorset

Paul Goldman - North Dorset

Gail McKechnie - New Forest

Carolyn Davies - Kennett

Carole Nooonan - West Wiltshire

Chris Archibald - East Dorset


Patient/Carer Constituency:

Anita Pheby


Staff Constituency

Jerry Wilde - Medical and Dental

Philippa Potter - Nurses and Midwives

Martin Lee - Hotel and Property

Laurie Granger - Clerical Administrative and Managerial

Nick Cross - Scientific and Therapeutic

Stella Sykes - Volunteers


Appointed Governors

Laurence Patterson - Wessex Community Action

William Moss - Wiltshire County Council

James Robertson - Salisbury District Council

Lis Woods - Wiltshire Primary Care Trust

Elizabeth Stevens - Dorset Primary Care Trust

Keith Douglas - Hampshire Primary Care Trust


For further information please contact:
Patrick Butler, Public Relations Manager, Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust. Tel: 01722 425170                                

Page Last Updated: 08/05/2014 10:05 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website