An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Election of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Governors 

Robert Coate (South Wiltshire Rural), Celeste Collins, (Salisbury City), Paul Goldman (North Dorset) and Alastair Lack (South Wiltshire Rural) have been elected to the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Council of Governors.

The elections were held by Electoral Reform Services on behalf of the Trust.

The Trust has seven public constituencies. These are Salisbury City, South Wiltshire Rural, North Dorset, New Forest, Kennet, West Wiltshire and East Dorset. The number of Governors per constituency is based on the population, with Governors elected for a three year period.

Luke March, Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: "I would like to welcome Alastair Lack to the Council of Governors and congratulate the three members who have been re-elected. In doing so, I would like to thank Chris Horwood for his tremendous commitment over the past three years as Governor of the South Wiltshire Rural constituency and acknowledge the invaluable contribution that all our Governors make to the membership , the Trust and of course to local people who use our hospital services."

Governors provide an essential link between the Trust and its members, feeding back information from the membership that can be used to help shape and plan services for the benefit of local people. They also have a number of statutory duties , including the appointment of Non Executive Directors and considering the Trust’s Annual Plan.

As well as public Governors, the Trust has staff Governors, and a patient/carer Governor who represents the interests of patients from the Trust’s specialist services. There are also five appointed Governors from organisations that work closely with the Trust.

More details on the election results can be found at under Foundation at the top of the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Homepage, where there is more about NHS Foundation Trust status and the benefits of joining as a member."

Notes to Editors:

The Council Of Governors has a total of 26 Governors and meets formally four times a year, as well as in individual topic based groups. The Governors communicate regularly with their members through the Trust’s website, newsletter and constituency meetings. The full list of the new Council of Governors is:

Public Constituencies:

John Carvell        Salisbury City (Lead Governor)
Chris Wain          Salisbury City
Celeste Collins      Salisbury City
Kate Beaumont     South Wiltshire Rural
Robert Coate         South Wiltshire Rural
Sara Willan
outh Wiltshire Rural
Alastair Lack          South Wiltshire Rural
Beth Robertson      South Wiltshire Rural
Mary Hutcherson   North Dorset
Paul Goldman          North Dorset
Wayne Arnett         New Forest
John Markwell         Kennett
Carole Noonan         West Wiltshire
Elizabeth Connock   East Dorset

Patient/Carer Constituency:

Andrew Farrow

Staff Constituency

Shaun Fountain    Medical and Dental
Colette Martindale Nurses and Midwives
Lynda Weeks        Hotel and Property
Louise Arnett       Clerical Administrative and Managerial
TBC                   Scientific and Therapeutic
Eric Gould           Volunteers

Nominated Governors

Anita Pheby          Wessex Community Action
William Moss          Wiltshire Council
Lis Woods             NHS Wiltshire
Elizabeth Stevens   NHS Dorset
Richard Samuel      NHS Hampshire


For further information please contact:

Patrick Butler,
Public Relations Manager,
Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust.
Tel: 01722 425170



Page Last Updated: 08/05/2014 10:05 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website