An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Staff rewarded for Services to Patients at Salisbury District Hospital 

Staff have been rewarded for their professionalism and commitment and the way in which they have improved services for patients as part of the Striving for Excellence Awards.

There were 13 categories in all, and award nominations were made by patients, staff and volunteers, with members of the public voting for the winners in the Service Improvement categories. Winners and the highly commended were presented with certificates and flowers by Interim Chief Executive Peter Hill and Chairman Luke March at a special ceremony at Salisbury District Hospital.

Peter Hill, Interim Chief Executive at Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: "These awards recognise the outstanding contribution staff have made to improve services, give our patients excellent customer care and provide the leadership and teamwork that influence standards of care at Salisbury District Hospital. We’ve seen so many positive examples of the tremendous work carried out by our staff and these awards cover just a small sample of the wide range of work that takes place across the hospital throughout the year."

The award categories and winners are as follows:

  • Chief Executive’s Leadership Award

Tamara Everington, Consultant Haematologist, for her work in implementing VTE assessments across the hospital and leading the Trust to ‘Exemplar’ status.

  • Chairman’s Multi-disciplinary Team Award

Colorectal Team for their multidisciplinary team approach to implementing enhanced recovery programmes that improves patient’s care and length of hospital stay.

  • Unsung Hero Award

Tracey Johns, Orthopaedic Coordinator, for her hard work and dedication in organising a busy department and resolving patient’s problems if they arise.

  • Outstanding Contribution Award

Tori Appleford, Surgical Secretariat Manager, for her invaluable support to the surgical directorate and her unremitting commitment to the Trust and patients.

  • Partnership Award

Salisbury Coalition Against Racism (SCAR) for this group of health and local authority organisations’ work to raise awareness of racism and diversity in south Wiltshire.

  • Equality and Diversity Award

Award given jointly to ArtCare, the Facilities Learning Advisors and Francis Fernando. Artcare worked with spinal unit staff to inspire spinal patients and help relatives through a chronological exhibition of pictures and personal stories. The Facilities Learning Advisors supported staff whose first language is not English. In conjunction with the REACH group, Francis Fernando provided support and raised awareness of diversity issues.

  • Volunteer Award

Badg Champion for his work as a former spinal patient and role model in helping other patients use specially adapted computer equipment that helps them keep in touch with relatives.

  • Innovation and Creativity Award

Peter Amy, Theatres Staff Nurse, for his ideas in developing prototype airway devices that could improve efficiency, benefit patients and generate income for the Trust.

  • Customer Care Team Award

The Fertility Centre for their helpfulness, sensitivity and individual attention they gave to a particular patient which left such a positive impression on them.

  • Customer Care Individual Award

Eunan Tiernan, Consultant Plastic Surgeon, for his support, belief and faith in a patient which enabled her to move forward at a distressing time in her life.

  • Service Improvement Individual and Team Award

The Speech and Language Therapy team for changes to their systems which resulted in the development of more efficient ‘drop in clinics’ that gave parents better and faster access to advice, improved choice and more patient involvement.

  • Service Improvement Sponsored Project Award

Staff in the Acute Medical Unit for changes to systems that resulted in greater support and availability of consultant advice for GPs and prompt assessment, investigation and diagnosis to prevent unnecessary admissions to hospital.

  •  Service Improvement Learning Award

Junior doctors for a pilot project using electronic patient lists to improve timeliness of inpatient inter-specialty referrals. This involved Amanda Nagle, Andrea Yap, Antonia Allen, Daniel Henderson, Daniel Jolley, Geoffrey Cockrell, Mohammad Al-Dahhan, Rupert Scott, Simon Cleave. 


Luke March , Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: "Our staff have such a critical role to play in delivering direct patient care to local people and those from further afield who need our specialist services. However, they continue to challenge what they do, change practices and bring in new and innovative ways which enable us to continually move forward. It gives me great pleasure to highlight their achievements and give them the recognition they deserve for all their hard work and creativity for the benefit of patients."

Notes to editors:

1. Striving for Excellence is an exciting initiative that ensures that all planning, projects and work of the Trust relate to one or more of the following six key themes: safety, service improvement, patient and public involvement, customer care, staff wellbeing and the generation of surplus funds to invest in services. It ensures that the Trust continues to provide the best possible care and treatment for patients in a safe and caring environment. That it has the money to invest in general and specialist services, with modern equipment and first class facilities that meet the needs of the community. It also supports staff wellbeing and ensures that they have the skills, education and training that they need to develop.

2. The full list of winners and runners up are as follows:

Leadership Award: Winner: Tamara Everington. Highly Commended: Donna Parker, Ian Harvey

Multidisciplinary Team Award: Winner: Colorectal Team. Highly Commended: VTE Team, Downstream Wards Team

Unsung Hero Award: Winner: Tracey Johns. Highly Commended: Pat Mortimer, Anita Harris

Outstanding Contribution Award: Winner: Tori Appleford. Highly Commended: Gill Sheppard, Lynda Martin

Customer Care Team Award: Winner: Fertility Centre. Highly Commended: Fundraising Team, Plastics Physiotherapy Team, Britford Ward, Day Surgery (Ophthalmology)

Customer Care Individual Award:

Winner: Eunan Tiernan. Highly Commended: Mansoor Khan, Pamela Heydon, Rose Daish, Jane Poole

Partnership Award:

Winner: Salisbury Coalition Against Racism. Highly Commended: Easy Read Group, Kingfisher Project, Toy Box Day Nursery.

Equality and Diversity Award:

Award given jointly to ArtCare and the Spinal Unit. Facilities Learning Advisors, Francis Fernando

Volunteer Award:

Winner: Badg Champion. Highly Commended: Elaine Baggaley, Bryan and Marilyn Bechter.

Innovation and Creativity Award:

Winner: Peter Amy: Highly Commended Stacey Finn/Charles Byrne/Lorraine Bartan/Dominic Nolan, Louisa Blake, Ginette Phippen/Fiona Jayes/ Benedicta Isaac-Kumar/Cindy Williams/Sandra Treslove

Service Improvement Individual and Team Award:

Winner: Speech and Language Therapy Team - Lisa Hirst, Alison Cakebread, Fiona Richens, Pia Grant, Charlotte Mustow. Highly Commended: Farley Stroke Unit Team, Patient Transport Out of Hours Team.

Service Improvement Sponsored Project Award:

Winner: Acute Medical Unit (AMU) staff.  Highly Commended: Bereavement Suite Project Team

Service Improvement Learning Award:

Junior doctors- Amanda Nagle, Andrea Yap, Antonia Allen, Daniel Henderson, Mohammad Al-Dahhan, Rupert Scott, Simon Cleave.


For further information please contact:

Patrick Butler

Public Relations Manager

Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust .

Tel: 01722 425170

Page Last Updated: 08/05/2014 10:07 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website