An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Staff rewarded for services to patients at Salisbury District Hospital Striving for Excellence Awards 2013 

Afternoon award Winners 
Striving for Excellence Award winners with Peter Hill and Luke March (Chief Executive's Leadership Award, Chairman's Outstanding Contribution Award, Unsung Hero Award, Customer Care Team and Individual Award, Pinder Award, Governors' Volunteer Individual and Team Award, Equality and Diversity Award). 
Service improvement winners 
Service Improvement Award winners with Peter Hill and Luke March (Service Improvement Individual and Team Award, Service Improvement Sponsored Project Award, Service Improvement Learning Award).

Staff have been rewarded for their professionalism and commitment and the way in which they have improved services for patients as part of the hospital’s Striving for Excellence Awards.

There were 10 categories in all, and award nominations were made by patients, staff and volunteers, with members of the public voting for the winners in the Service Improvement categories. Winners and the highly commended were presented with certificates and flowers by Chief Executive Peter Hill and Chairman Luke March at a special ceremony at Salisbury District Hospital.

Peter Hill, Chief Executive at Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “I’ve seen first-hand the professionalism and commitment of our staff in providing the very best care for our patients and I’m proud to be able to give our staff the recognition they deserve through our Striving for Excellence Awards. “

“At a time where we have seen several high profile examples of poor care in other parts of the country, it’s essential that we take opportunities like this to celebrate the achievements of our staff and reflect on the excellent work that they do for our patients.”

The award categories and winners are as follows:

Chief Executive’s Leadership Award

Henry Wilding, Sexual Health Services Manager for his strength as a caring, motivated highly respected leader who improved services and supported staff throughout change.

Chairman’s Outstanding Contribution Award

Carolyn Sawyer, Senior Sister and Manager on Pembroke Ward who, respected by staff and loved by patients, has helped thousands of patients and their families throughout her long career.

Unsung Hero Award

Rose Daish, Theatres Senior Nursing Assistant for her dedication and encyclopaedic knowledge, and the way she treats patients with kindness, compassion and helps new staff.

Customer Care Team Award

The Dermatology Department was nominated by a number of long term patients who highlighted their friendliness, sensitivity and kind and caring support.

Customer Care Individual Award

Carol Blake, Nursing Assistant, Sarum Children’s Ward for her sensitivity and kindness and the way she gave hope and inspiration to a patient, enabling them to move forward with their life.

Service Improvement Individual and Team Award

The Laundry Team for the way in which they used feedback to set new standards which resulted in more proactive attention to concerns, improved service and staff motivation.

Service Improvement Sponsored Project Award

Elderly care doctors who introduced coloured crockery to help dementia patients differentiate food, increasing consumption, nutrition and improving recovery and rehabilitation.

Service Improvement Learning Award

Kate Bennett and Lynda Isaac for the way they selected patients in A&E for early rehabilitation on Winterslow Ward which increased mobility and reduced length of stay

Pinder Award (Mentorship Award)

Dawn Whitmarsh, Staff Nurse, Whiteparish Ward for her patience, inspiration, support and pride in her job which she passed on to her student.

Governors’ Volunteer Individual Award

Julia Chute, Burns Unit Group Support (BUGS) Chairman who worked tirelessly to raise awareness of B.U.G.S. and its work through charities and national forums.

Governors’ Volunteer Team Award

Anne Harding and Joan Phillips, who having worked together since 1991, provided dedicated reliable support for staff and patients in the Hospice.

Equality and Diversity Award

Lisa Brown, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Champion for her role in raising the profile of LGBT issues and forging links with internal departments and external organisations

Luke March, Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “Our staff continue to provide the very best care to our patients and I know the enormous gratitude and respect that local people have for them. I am constantly impressed by the innovation and pride of our staff which is highlighted so strongly through these awards and the day-to-day work that they do within the hospital.”

Notes to editors:

The full list of Winners and Highly Commended is as follows (please note that only a winner is chosen for the Chief Executive’s Award, the Chairman’s Award the Pinder Award and Governors’ Volunteer Award).

Chief Executive’s Leadership Award

Winner: Henry Wilding, Service Manager, Salisbury Department of Sexual Health

Chairman’s Outstanding Contribution Award

Winner: Carolyn Sawyer, Senior Sister and Manager, Pembroke Ward

Unsung Hero Award

Winner: Rose Daish, Senior Nursing Assistant, Theatres

Highly Commended: John Battersby, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Head and Neck Services.

Highly Commended: Stalin Sunny, Catering Assistant, Hedgerows Coffee Shop

Customer Care Team Award

Winner: Dermatology Department

Highly Commended: Emergency Department

Highly Commended: Catering Team

Customer Care Individual Award

Winner: Carol Blake, Nursing Assistant, Sarum Children’s Ward

Highly Commended: Katharine Wilcocks, Specialist Physiotherapist, Orthopaedics

Highly Commended: Lucy, Cremin, Specialist Physiotherapist, Plastic Surgery

Governors’ Volunteer Award

Individual Winner: Julia Chute, Burns Unit Group Support (BUGS) Chairman

Team Winner: Anne Harding and Joan Phillips, Hospice Volunteers

Equality and Diversity Award

Winner: Lisa Brown, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Champion

Highly Commended: ArtCare Team

Highly Commended: Human Resources Health and Wellbeing Group

Service Improvement Individual and Team Award

Winner: Laundry Team

Highly Commended: Clinical Psychology and Staff Club

Highly Commended: Ophthalmology Department

Highly Commended: Drs Nick Carty, Charles Ranaboldo and Shelley King

Highly Commended: The Endoscopy Department

Service Improvement Sponsored Project Award

Winner: Drs Carmen Carroll, Clare Shinton, Katie Duff-Walker and Stefka Behova

Highly Commended: Shirley Kinsey and Kim Melbourne

Service Improvement Learning Award

Winner: Kate Bennett and Lynda Isaac

Highly Commended: Retinal Screening Team.

Pinder Award

Winner: Dawn Whitmarsh, Staff Nurse, Whiteparish Ward

Page Last Updated: 08/05/2014 10:07 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website