An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Staff rewarded for services to patients at Salisbury District Hospital Striving for Excellence Awards 2014 


Staff have been rewarded for their professionalism and commitment and the way in which they have improved services for patients as part of the hospital’s Striving for Excellence Awards.

There were 11 categories in all, and award nominations were made by patients, staff and volunteers, with members of the public voting for the winners in the Service Improvement categories. Winners and the highly commended were presented with certificates and flowers by Chief Executive Peter Hill and Chairman Nick Marsden at a special ceremony at Salisbury District Hospital.

Peter Hill, Chief Executive at Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “This year we have been celebrating the 21st anniversary of Salisbury District Hospital and it was particularly pleasing to be able to acknowledge the enormous contribution our staff have made to local health services over the years and give them recognition for the outstanding work that has taken place this year.”

The award categories and winners are as follows:

Group shot includes winners in the following categories: Chief Executive’s Leadership Award, Chairman’s Outstanding Contribution

Chief Executive’s Leadership Award

Mandy Cripps, Directorate Manager for Surgery, for her commitment and leadership shown over the years when dealing with complex and difficult challenges

Chairman’s Outstanding Contribution Award

Dave Cates, Director of Fundraising, for the way he has worked tirelessly on fundraising initiatives that support patient care.

Unsung Hero Award

Graham Love, Caretaker at Central Health Clinic, for his support, commitment and willingness to work over and above what is expected of him.

Customer Care Team Award winner: The Hospice team with Peter Hill, Chief Executive (left), Mandy Cripps (second left who present

Customer Care Team Award

The Hospice for the compassion and sensitivity that they showed in helping a patient and the family at a difficult and emotional time.

Customer Care Individual Award

Carol Evans, Physiotherapy Assistant, for the way in which she helped a young child through rehabilitation when she was anxious and frightened.

Living the Values Award

There were joint winners in this category with Liam Thornhill, winning for his responsiveness and the friendly support he offered to staff and patients and Rosie Stennings, gynaecology outpatients sister, for her hard work, loyalty and patient focused approach to all her work.

Service Improvement Individual and Team Award

The multidisciplinary team in the Intensive Therapy Unit and Clinical Psychology for improved outcomes for critically ill patients through greater psychological input, therapy and follow up.

Service Improvement Sponsored Project Award

Redlynch and Pitton ward staff, Estates and Artcare staff for the development of an improved environment for older people through wide staff and external engagement.

Service Improvement Learning Award

This was won jointly by Kenny Duke in the portering team who developed an ergonomic and secure patient notes trolley, and doctors Neil Papworth and Tom McKearney who developed a better process for accessing clinical information out of hours through an electronic system.

Pinder Award (Mentorship Award)

Rachel Holmes, Community Midwife, who has been a true role model to a student midwife who praised her professionalism and integrity.

Governors’ Volunteer Award

Arthur Kendrew, Children’s Entertainer, who has brought joy and happiness to so many sick children on Sarum Ward.

Equality and Diversity Award

Anne Phillimore, Assistant Audiologist, for her true passion in setting up a project to deliver hearing aid maintenance and advice in nursing homes.

Nick Marsden, Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “In my first full year in Salisbury I have been overwhelmed by the passion that our staff have for the NHS and their commitment to the local community and our patients. In this anniversary year I am proud to be able to give our staff the recognition they deserve and acknowledge their efforts through these awards.”

Notes to editors:

The full list of Winners and Highly Commended is as follows (please note that only a winner is chosen for the Chief Executive’s Award, the Chairman’s Award and the Pinder Award).

Leadership Award: Winner Mandy Cripps with Nick Marsden, Chairman (Left) and Peter Hill, Chief Executive (Right).

Chief Executive’s Leadership Award

Winner: Mandy Cripps, Directorate Manager for Surgery

Chairman’s Outstanding Contribution Award

Winner: Dave Cates, Director of Fundraising for the Stars Appeal

Unsung Hero Award

Winner: Graham Love, Caretaker, Central Health Clinic (CHC)
Highly Commended: Medical Records Department. Maria Ford, Consultant Nurse in Critical Care

Customer Care Team and Individual Award

Team Winner: The Hospice
Highly Commended: The Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA) Screening Team. The Endoscopy Unit
Individual Winner: Carol Evans, Paediatric Physiotherapy Assistant,
Highly Commended: Anne Phillimore, Assistant Audiologist. Meg Whitfield, Senior Occupational Physiotherapist, Plastic Surgery

Living the Values Award

Joint Winners: Rosie Stennings, Sister in Gynaecology Outpatients and Liam Thornhill, Library Assistant
Highly Commended: Lucy Puxley, Secretary/Administrator in Speech and Language Therapy. Emma Jefferd, Computer Information Assistant, Sterilisation and Disinfection Unit (SDU)

Governor’s Volunteer Award

Winner: Arthur Kendrew, Children’s Entertainer
Highly Commended: Mike Pointer, Engage Volunteer. Bereavement Support Volunteers

Equality and Diversity Award

Winner: Anne Phillimore, Assistant Audiologist
Highly Commended: Maxine Addis. Sexual Health Team

Service Improvement Individual and Team Award

Winner: ITU and Clinical Psychology
Highly Commended: Sterilisation and Disinfection Unit (SDU) Team. Adult Speech and Language (SLT) Team

Service Improvement Sponsored Project Award

Winner: Redlynch/Pitton Ward Staff, Estates and ArtCare
Highly Commended: Nursing Directorate

Service Improvement Learning Award

Joint Winner: The Portering Team, Medical and Surgical Foundation Doctors
Highly Commended: Louise Arnett, Andy Cowling, Callum Stroud, Kate Bennett and Jason Bench

Pinder Award

Winner: Rachel Holmes, Community Midwife

Page Last Updated: 25/11/2014 12:20 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website