An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Two New Non Executive Directors Appointed At Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust 

Former Government Chief Nursing Officer for England Revd. Dame Sarah Mullally DBE and former Chief Executive of the Scottish Ambulance Service Andrew Freemantle CBE  have been appointed as Non Executive Directors of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust.

They will replace John Stokoe who completed his term of office in October and Barry Bull who retires on  the 31 December 2012.

The Revd Dame Sarah Mullally DBE 
The Revd Dame Sarah Mullally DBE               
Andrew Freemantle CBE 
Andrew Freemantle CBE                    

The Revd. Dame Sarah Mullally has considerable  NHS experience having started her nursing career at St Thomas’ in London in 1984, becoming  Director of Nursing and Deputy Chief Executive at Chelsea and Westminster Healthcare NHS Trust in 1994. In 1999 she was appointed Chief Nursing Officer and Director of Patient Experience at the Department of Health,  where she provided nursing and midwifery advice to the Government  and professional leadership  to over 420,000 nurses and midwives. She moved into the Church of England full time in 2004 and is now Canon Treasurer at Salisbury Cathedral. She is currently a Non Executive  Director  at the Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust  and Pro Chancellor of London South Bank University.

Following a distinguished Army career in the infantry and special  forces in which he reached the rank of Brigadier at the age of 43, Andrew Freemantle  gained wide experience during eight years as Chief Executive of what was then the UK’s largest ambulance service, the Scottish Ambulance Service NHS Trust.  This was followed by 11 years as Chief Executive Officer of a major charity, the Royal National Lifeboat Institution, for which his service was recognised by the award of a CBE and an Honorary Doctorate in Business Administration.  Since retiring in 2009, he has held a number of non-executive appointments and was elected a Governor of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust  in 2012.

The appointments were made by the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Council of Governors. Non Executive Directors serve three years and can extend this for a further three-year term. They receive remuneration of £13,000 per annum. Dame Sarah Mullally takes up her appointment on 1 April 2013 and Andrew Freemantle 1 January 2013.

Luke March, Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “This is a challenging period for the NHS and a time of change for many NHS organisations, so it is essential that the Board has a wide range of skills and knowledge to take us forward successfully in the future. Together,  Dame Sarah Mullally and  Andrew Freemantle bring to the Trust a wide range of knowledge and significant experience in their own fields. I am delighted that we have been able to make these excellent appointments,  as we continue to develop and improve services for our patients and local people who use our hospital services.”

Other current Non Executive members of the Trust Board are Luke March (Chairman), Nigel Atkinson, Lydia Brown,  (Barry Bull who retires on 31 December 2012), Ian Downie and Stephen Long.

For further information please contact:

Patrick Butler
Public Relations Manager
Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
Tel: 01722 425170


Page Last Updated: 08/05/2014 10:08 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website