An outstanding experience for every patient
Go to home page
For patients and visitors
About Us
Why choose us?
Keeping healthy

Elections for Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Governors 

Eight new Governors have been elected  to the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Council of Governors.



The elections were held by Electoral Reform Services on behalf of the Trust  and are the first  round of elections for Governors in public, patient/carer and staff constituencies who were elected for a three year period when the Trust was awarded NHS Foundation status in June 2006.


The Trust has seven public constituencies. These are Salisbury City, South Wiltshire Rural, North Dorset, New Forest, Kennet, West Wiltshire and East Dorset. The number of Governors per constituency is based on the population, with some Governors serving a two or three year term based on the size of the constituency. There are also elected staff Governors and appointed Governors from partners organisations.


  • Newly elected Governors:

Elizabeth Connock (East Dorset), John Markwell (Kennet) , Wayne Arnett (New Forest), Beth Robertson (South Wiltshire Rural), Andrew Farrow (Patient/Carer), Eric Gould (Volunteers), Louise Arnett and Lynda Weeks (both staff)


  • Re-elected Governors

Mary Hutcherson (North Dorset), John Carvell and Chris Wain (both Salisbury City), Catherine Beaumont Robert Coate and Sara Willan (all three South Wiltshire Rural), Carole Noonan (West Wiltshire), Nick Cross and Philippa Potter (both staff).


Luke March, Chairman of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust said: “I would like to welcome the eight new Governors to the Trust’s Council of Governors and congratulate the nine  members who have been re-elected. In doing so,  I would like to thank the Governors who were not re-elected for their  tremendous work over the past three years and acknowledge the invaluable contribution that all our Governors make to the work of the Trust,  including membership,  and of course to all those who use our hospital services.”


Governors provide an essential link between the Trust and its members, feeding back information from the membership that can be used to help shape and plan services for the benefit of local people. They also have a number of statutory duties , including the appointment of Non Executive Directors and considering the Trust’s Annual Plan.


As well as public Governors, the Trust has staff Governors,  and a patient/carer Governor who represents the interests of patients from the Trust’s specialist services. There are also five appointed Governors from organisations that work closely with the Trust.


More details on the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust election results can be found at  under Foundation at the bottom of the Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust Homepage, where there is more about  NHS Foundation Trust  status and the benefits of joining as a member. Ends


Notes to Editors:


The Council Of Governors currently has a total of 26 Governors and meets formally four times a year, as well as in individual topic based groups. The Governors communicate regularly with their members through the Trust’s website, newsletter and constituency meetings. The full list of the new Council of  Governors is: 


Public Constituencies:  

John Carvell - Salisbury City

Chris Wain - Salisbury City

Celeste Collins - Salisbury City

Catherine Beaumont - South Wiltshire Rural

Robert Coate - South Wiltshire Rural

Sara Willan - South Wiltshire Rural

Chris Horwood - South Wiltshire Rural

Beth Robertson - South Wiltshire Rural

Mary Hutcherson - North Dorset

Paul Goldman - North Dorset

Wayne Arnett - New Forest

John Markwell - Kennet

Carole Noonan - West Wiltshire

Elizabeth Connock - East Dorset


Patient/Carer Constituency:

Andrew Farrow


Staff Constituency

Vacant - Medical and Dental

Philippa Potter - Nurses and Midwives

Lynda Weeks - Hotel and Property

Louise Arnett - Clerical Administrative and Managerial

Nick Cross - Scientific and Therapeutic

Eric Gould - Volunteers


Appointed Governors


Vacant - Wessex Community Action

Vacant - Wiltshire County Council

Lis Woods - NHS Wiltshire

Elizabeth Stevens - NHS Dorset

Keith Douglas - NHS Hampshire


For further information please contact:
Patrick Butler, Public Relations Manager, Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust. Tel: 01722 425170                                

Page Last Updated: 08/05/2014 10:05 
Printed from Salisbury NHS Foundation Website